Putting it all together.

There are times in our lives, probably more often than we realize, when there are big changes happening. New relationship. New home. Children. Marriage. Job change. Death or illness of a loved one.

These are all major, life changing events, that can bring on great stress when they occur. Even when they are happy events.

What I am keenly aware of today, is that at any given time, I am swirling in several different aspects of my life at once. And, the complicated place to be at times, if I let it be complicated, is putting all of it together.

My life was predictable for quite some time, even though aspects of it were not happy, for years. So, I set out a couple of years ago, to change it up and to create something different for myself. I am still creating those big changes now; new relationship, new job duties, new attention to my health and well being, my sobriety, and my sense of spirituality.

So today, I was reminded of how complex it can be to bring it all together. Not only in terms of the time it takes to devote to all of the important aspects of my life. Also, for aspects of that life to come together, like my new partner and my daughter building a rapport; like meeting each others’ families and friends; like sharing aspects of self that have been kept within for a very long time.

I remembered today, that when I would come to realize the need to bring unfamiliar aspects together, I would either ignore the intricacies of the situation, become really dramatic about it and worry, or dive right in.

I am diving right in.

Life is not meant to be neat, and tidy, and a linear experience. I always thought it was, or at least, that was what I wanted it to be. No mess, no surprises. Always predictable.

But it is not that way. And today, I am embracing the adventure and the opportunity that it allows me, to see that there is no linear life experience; that life is living and breathing, and going in many different ways at once.

So, today, I feel truly alive and excited at the adventure of putting all aspects of my life together. It might have its moments of challenge, but it will always bring me to a more knowing and joyful place.

Leave a Reply

