Magnificence of the human spirit.

I draw myself a Medicine card each day, which have various living creatures on them, and then, a book that goes along with it, to say what drawing that animal means for me. I believe strongly in my Native American roots, and what that level of spirituality offers to me, so the cards guide me in profound ways.

I also have totem creatures, which are with me at all times, and there are days when the creature card that I pick, is one of my totems. Today, I drew the Blue Heron card, which represents the need for self-reflection.

The main premise of self-reflection, according to the card, is that when we are resistant to really look at our own traits, beliefs, thoughts, or actions, we spend much of our time blaming others, or blaming life in general, for not having what we want. When we spend our time blaming others, the Blue Heron medicine tells us, it is because we do not have the courage to face our own demons, our own struggles.

Fear keeps us small, and keeps us focusing on others, not self.

Also, when our perception is cloudy, and we are viewing others and life through lenses that are clouded with doubt, self absorption, fear, or cynicism, we are less likely to change, because we believe that our view of the world is really the way that things are.

However, there is always room for change, growth, and evolution. “The magnificence of your human spirit lies waiting for the joy of discovery, if you are courageous enough to follow the waterbird throughout the journey.”

Magnificence.

Doesn’t that sound enticing?

Magnificence is only a breath away, for any one of us. We only need to have the courage, to face ourselves, even at our worst, and change what we have to what we desire.

For me, I am choosing magnificence. Courage. Light.

Leave a Reply

