The Bravery.

There is a band called this that I have not partaken yet, although I am intrigued by the name. And I use that as my title today, because I called up the bravery in myself today. It must have come from a true, real source within, because I knew that it felt like it was beyond me as it was happening.

I scheduled an appointment with my representative of my district today, to discuss my concerns about SB 1250 here in Pennsylvania; the Marriage Protection Amendment. It wants to amend our state’s constitution, to declare marriage as only between one man and one woman, and to not allow any room for civil unions, or any other kind of joint relationship acknowledgement for LGBT couples.

I don’t know if I was born a radical, or destined to be an activist. But, I am, that is for sure. I am an activist simply because I actively participate in the process; I don’t just sit by and let it wash over me. I don’t get complacent about issues that are important; I mean, the reality of life is that different issues become important at different times of my life. But, the bottom line is, I don’t want to sit idly by and let the world make the rules, fair or unfair. And, then gripe about them without using my voice to speak up.

And, today, I spoke up. Spoke up about why amending our constitution is wrong; spoke about why my committed, long term relationship should be validated; why gay marriage will in no way negatively impact on straight marriage; why my family deserves protection. I found my voice yet again, and the bravery it took to not get laryngitis.

I am woman, hear me ROAR……