Celebrate your Self!!

Today is the celebration of the day of my birth.  Forty-six years ago today, my parents and older brother and sister welcomed my arrival into the world.  That arrival was one which was troubled in the very beginning….. I was a late arrival, by a few days, not sure what my original date of birth was, but I was in distress when it came time for me to be born, the umbilical cord was wrapped around my neck when I was born, to this day, don’t like anything tight around my neck…..

So, I did arrive, safe and sound, and was a blessing to my parents, they were so happy about my being here.  I don’t think that I have stopped celebrating since that time.

I love birthdays, other person’s, but also my own.  I love celebrating me.  Celebrating my arrival on this earth, celebrating my connection to my family, and also, celebrating each year the person that I am continuing to evolve into.  For me, evolution of personhood and spirit is a lifelong journey.  It is lessons at every turn, sometimes more challenging than others, but always enlightening and encouraging, as long as one is open to the information that the Universe is bestowing upon us.

I have learned many things along this journey, but some of the most important messages and lessons come to mind on this day this year.

First, family is always first and foremost.  Whether we are talking family of birth or origin, family of choice, or family of circumstance, or anything in between, family will always come first in my mind.  For me, family has always been defined by my parents, siblings, and grandparents, aunts, uncles and cousins.  Over time, that has been extended to my partner, our daughter, and her family.  And recently, in addition to that, my “family” that I have acquired through my connections to here.  The development of relationships that has happened here has been almost miraculous, in its energy and intensity.  Family first, always.

Second lesson that has had the most impact on me is to travel light.  This journey is a long one, this life, at least I hope so for me.  Wait, I am going to take that back.  I have always known that I will live a long, fufilling life, so I know that I have many lessons and journeys ahead.  Therefore, I need to keep the baggage at a minimum.  Now this lesson is only a very recent one, say, the last year or so.  I have learned fully that while there may be some stuff I take along that I need or desire to have with me, there is other “baggage” that is better left by the roadside, and so, item by item, I have been leaving it behind.  Whether it is friendships that have no longer been fulfilling, or have become one sided, or always been one sided, or family issues that have kept me in a place of darkness or sad memory, or if it is view of self that has been demeaning or derogatory in some way.  All of that baggage I have left behind, so that I can travel light, and have room in my backpack for souveniers along the way……

Third lesson that I have learned is to absolutely fall in love with your self.  Embrace, cherish, celebrate, acknowledge and get to know your self for all that it encompasses, the flaws, the strengths the beauty, wisdom, courage and resiliency.  This becomes most apparent for me when I can look in the mirror, and instead of saying in my head, “This is as good as it gets today”, exclaiming “You are simply awesome, beautiful and unique; what a day this is going to be!”.  To me, it goes beyond attitude and perception; it is viewing your self through a lens that is not deameaning and negative, but rather, looking at your self with eyes of love and understanding.  We all deserve that, no matter what our circumstances.

The lesson I believe that will guide me throughout whatever adversity or advantage that I have yet to experience in this life, is the final lesson, one that is the source of whatever I think, feel and believe from the moment my eyes open every morning.  That is, all that I am about, is based in two values of spirit, those being TRUTH and LOVE.  For those of you that have been getting to know me over the last few months, you see these concepts reflected in everything that I write here.  What my life comes down to, what creates the perception for me every  morning that life is indeed worth celebrating, is that fact that I conduct my life in the total spirit of truth and of love, to myself and to others, and therefore, it is always authentic and full.  For me, any life that doesn’t have itself based in these two principles is simply not worth living.

I am not sure what further lessons are in store for me as my life keeps going by.  And, not knowing is not fearful for me, but exciting as far as the adventures that have yet to be shown to me.  What I do know, is that I celebrate every moment, every inkling of this life that I have been blessed with; I feel fortunate in all that I have been given, and all that I have realized to give to myself.  My birthday wish for myself is that I never stop wishing, dreaming, hoping, and creating, and that all of my family and friends will always, ALWAYS, find room to celebrate their SELVES……. we are all worth that celebration, not just on the day of our birth, but every day of the year…..

HAPPY BIRTH DAY TO ME!!!!!!!!!!!!

11 thoughts on “Celebrate your Self!!

  1. You are one of the most beautiful humans I have ever had the blessing of meeting, I you have the most incrediblist of days filled with love, laughter, warm fuzzy memory making things and HUGS… lots of them

    BTW am still hugging – just so you know…

    Today I danced in the rain celebrating your birthday with the biggest smile on my face, Love you lots sis! MWAH

  2. You live your life in celebration..every day is a new beginning..every second..every breath!

    What you see when you look in the mirror is reflected by your words and the energy here….

    ‘Tis “awesome, beautiful and unique” 🙂

    Happy Birthday!

  3. Dammit! I missed your birthday! Blame Cape Cod. I hope you had an absolutely brilliant day. And week. And year. And life. My birthday gift to you. Love you can feel whenever you want to – just close your eyes and feel it. It will never go away.

  4. Cape Cod is a good reason; I so miss that place, but we hope to go next year for a whole week; that will be our time to meet…… thank you so much for the wishes……I love your gift, your gift of love. I know that it will come in handy on many days……. sending you and your lovely family BIG hugs!!!!

  5. Happy belated birthday, my kindred sister. I’m delighted that you are leaving that extra baggage behind, as I have a feeling that you have a long journey also. Don’t forget to leave behind fear, anger, hate, unforgiveness, and all that awful baggage that make it impossible to fit in courage, gladness, love, forgiveness; those attributes that represent pure grace, lasting style, and most of all makes for a super trip. I pray your journey is always pleasant; and should you run into a storm, I pray that you will come out it shining, as the sun peeks through the storm cloud! As the Irish say,
    May the road rise up to meet you.
    May the wind always be at your back.
    May the sun shine warm upon your face,
    and rains fall soft upon your fields.
    And,
    May God hold you in the palm of His hand!

    PLL, CordieB.

Leave a Reply

