A day of Peace and Remembrance………

I am by no means, Un-American.  I have, at times, joked about being on a “black list” of sorts, in some aspect of the government, because I like to speak up about things.  However, I am anti-war.  I am pro-peace.  I cringe whenever someone that I know enlists in the military.  I fear for those parents whose children have gone off to war.  I dread seeing civilian casualties in the name of a cause. 

 

I am not, un-American. 

 

 

I remember when the war in Iraq first began; how many years ago was that?  It seems like forever ago.  Seven years ago, I remember hearing about a young person being in a shopping mall, with a tee shirt on with a peace sign, JUST a peace sign.  The person was basically harassed by mall security, and eventually taken into custody.  For wearing a peace sign, for believing in peace.

 

 

I believe that I have a pretty clear understanding of why the emotions run so deeply about this war.  I am not immune to those strong feelings.  I know that people believe in a cause, or believe in America for calling us to action no matter what the consequences.  I do have admiration for those that are willing to do whatever it takes for their country.  But, at the same time, I fiercely believe in peace, if that makes any sense.  I hate to see innocent young beings killed in the name of war.  I hate that some of those young people that are killed aren’t really sure they should be where they are.  Who’s lives have barely begun before they are lost.  That saddens me so deeply.

 

I have peace signs all over my car, I wear tee shirts frequently, yet have often thought that by showing that symbol openly I am appearing to not be supportive of the United States, of my country and those that defend it.  Nothing could be further from the truth.  I support our troops, especially when they return and need so much emotional support, even when they believe that they don’t.  We fly our American flag proudly on our home, not just today, but every day.  We pay respect to any soldiers or veterans that we come across.  Every day. 

 

However, I believe that being an advocate for peace, and supporting our troops and our country, CAN co-exist.  Just like so many issues that divide persons today, I know that this issue surely does.  But, aren’t we the UNITED states of America?  Let us find those things that unite us rather than divide us.  Let us work together instead of opposed.  I believe in peace, AND I am American.  And, that works for me……

 

 

In remembrance and peace, on this day and everyday……..

10 thoughts on “A day of Peace and Remembrance………

  1. I agree. . . One CAN advocate for peace and support our troops. I do! I cringe when someone enlists in the military as well. And then I cring again when they are sent overseas to war. I pray for their safety. . . Yet I hate that they are there in the first place.

    Post 9/11 has been an interesting time in this country. I don’t know when peace became such an ugly word. But, slowly but surely it’s becoming beautiful again. I don’t think you, me, or anyone for that matter are un-American because they are pacificists. I’m so proud to be an American, but being proud doesn’t mean blind following either, and that is something I will not do. Great post Vanessa. 😀

  2. Thanks Psych. 🙂

    Hayden: I remember when I heard it; at the time, it shocked me, as to the deterrence of freedom of speech, all in the name of the acute fears that many people had at the time. Not speaking out is a worse crime than speaking out, in my mind.

  3. Leah: Thank you; peace is definitely more embraced again, maybe because those that supported this war in the beginning understand now that it has gone on way too long. Thank goodness our new President seems to understand that. Peace is not just a word, or a symbol; it really is a state of mind and way of life. The world needs more of it, for sure.

  4. I was against the war in Viet Nam. I am proud that I never spit on any returning Viet Nam vet, never was anything but supportive of them, even when I demonstrated with many of my generation against that unjust “police action” (war was never declared). It took me until the war in Iraq to realize that it wasn’t only Viet Nam I was against, but all war.
    Peace is a much better solution. It keeps us calm and logical and able to solve the problems that guns just don’t solve. And, Vanessa, like you I am very proud to be an American citizen. I always have been.

  5. Vanessa,
    Beautiful. This is very unique and passionate-my heart was with you reading this. I never thought about it like that and I thank you for writing this. I love to write and write emotionally like you so I feel I can relate to your words right away.

    As my pic shows, I am married to a Sailor, but ironically I have come to believe peace is the answer as well. Many I can see in their eyes do not believe or understand how I can be a military spouse and not support the war efforts, like it is the same thing as not supporting my husband and troops. But it is not the same.

    I support the soldiers and sailors 100%, emotionally and physically. But I am 25 years old, we joined the Navy at 21/22 and through the last 3 years of military life I have also become Buddhist and really believe in their philosophy more than anything. Love and compassion are the only way to real salvation, real freedom, real peace between people.

  6. Tessa: This one was so hard to put into words, but I awoke that morning thinking about it. We have a small town Memorial Parade every year in our town, and our daughter and I have marched, as we did this year, with our Girl Scout troop. I am always humbled by the support of the community, and overwhelmed with emotion at acknowledging how many lives have been lost. It saddens me, yet I support these men and women with my whole heart.

    I remember a couple of years ago, I was picking up my mom and dad from the airport. My dad asked me to hold his carry on bad for a moment, so that he could go shake the hand of a young soldier in fatigues, just returning from a tour in Iraq. My dad wanted to thank him, and show his appreciation. It brings tears to my eyes even thinking about it now, it was so powerful.

  7. Wow. What a wonderful memory. It shows where you got your patriotism, thanks for sharing. Parents actions are the most powerful thing, and I will try to remember this as I raise my son. I will have to get into parades and things with meaning like that.

  8. It is a wonderful memory. And, parents hold great power and influence in what we say, do and believe. Even though my father and I have very different political views much of the time, he is so genuine, kind and appreciative, and I am proud to be his daughter, especially at moments like those.

Leave a Reply

