“No dream is bigger than the dreamer…….”

I recently read this quote, and I cannot remember for the life of me where I read it. But, by goodness, is it ever true. I am fairly certain I have not always realized this to be true, but I know now how true it actually is.

For much of my adult life, heck, teen life as well, I took my dreams away from myself. At least, the really BIG ones. Sure, I finished high school, with fairly good grades. I was accepted to two good colleges, and attended one that gave me a fabulous education. I went on to earn a Master’s degree, get some great jobs, including a dream job at my alma mater, met the love of my life, and had our child.

So, I can’t say that my dreams in my life have not come true.

However, somewhere along the line, I decided that to dream too big wasn’t very realistic. That to focus on those larger than life dreams didn’t pay the rent, or take care of my baby in the middle of the night, or get me to work on time. After all, I had so much awesomeness going on in my life, what did I need bigger dreams for, anyway?

Fast forward, 2007. That seemed to be the onset of a new way of thinking for me and my life, and my bigger than life dreams. So much went on in my life in that year, so much heartbreak, and so much joy. In that year, among other lessons that I was forced to learn, I was able to start realizing that no matter what else was going on in my life, my dreams and desires were important.

Simply, because they were important to me.

My dreams, my larger than life dreams, you see, are not larger than my life. They are meant for me to go forward and to fulfill them. And, I am not the exception here. I may be unique, but I am not special when it comes to the realization of my dreams. We all have that capacity, even I would say, that RESPONSIBILITY to realize our big dreams.

And, to do that, to go after those dreams that we feel most drawn to, that speak to our souls so deeply, is not selfish. It does not mean we care only for ourselves and no one else. It shows that we indeed, love ourselves deeply enough to be happy, and to go toward those things that will bring that happiness and joy, to call to us so deeply within that we cannot quench the passion and energy which that dream stirs.

I have no idea what my biggest dreams are going to look like in detail; the parts that I do see, the glimpses that come to me at various times of the day, involve groups of people, ones that I have deep conversations with, that I am hugging, that I am shedding tears with. Ones that I tell that all will be okay; that show me pictures of their children and grandchildren. They are talking to me about my book, and about my call to others to pay it forward and take care of their fellow living beings.

That dream, and all that comes with it, is no bigger than I am, and that means, it is within my reach.

So is yours.