Transitions

There is a space between seasons that I have found a new name for: The in betweens. It is that period of time, whether it be days or weeks, that are in between the full onset of the new season. Right now, we are in between the summer and the autumn. When I need to have socks on my feet under my sandals. When short sleeves to go to work in the morning has to be covered with a jacket. When I throw an extra blankie on the bed at night, yet it is too soon to turn on the heat in the house. When we still have sunny, warm days that feel like the last squeeze of summer is available to us. In between.

It has been a glorious summer. Heat, sun, fun, and family. Travel, beach, barbeque, and swimming. Outdoor projects and fans. However, I am grateful for autumn, my favorite season. Always a time of reflection for me, of settling in, preparation, snuggle, warmth, coziness. Although the summer has been amazing, I am so looking forward to this transition time into the winter. The crispness of life is in the air.

The in betweens of seasons are not much different than any in betweens of life. Transitions. Going from one phase, or one aspect of life to the next. The in between time is a combination of endings and anticipation. The time prior is ending, the new time is beginning. There may be sadness or disappointment at endings, and excitement at new beginnings. It can sometimes seem so overwhelming and confusing. I think that is why in betweens are so important. It is almost like a time of preparation. Preparing to let go of the old and embrace the new. It is the “trying on” time. In between.

We all are entitled to these times, when transition enters our lives. And, doesn’t transition ALWAYS enter our lives? It doesn’t mean that it is a welcome guest; but it does come, and it is present in all of our lives. I think as humans we are always transitioning from one type of phase or life event to another. From single to married. From nonparent to parent. From career person to unemployed. From worker to retired. Or sometimes, not so formalized. From a vital friendship to one that has drifted from us. From a person focused on having more, to one managing with less. To a person that has had hope to one that has become hopeless. To a person with little faith to one who has embraced it more fully.

It seems that lately, my life is full of these transitions more than ever. I am actively taking on, and letting go, of so many thoughts, feelings, and behaviors these days! I am taking on new, more honest relationships with those around me. I am letting go of my arrogance and know it all attitude. I am taking on coaching, through The Handel Group, and loving the excitement of it all. I am letting go of control, and perfection, and seeing the humanness in me, probably for the first time in my life. I am taking on new information and letting go of thinking I am always the expert.

Life is full of these transitions, these in between times when we are not yet without what has been, but are on the threshold of what is to come next. There is not doubt that we have to step into the next, and we cannot make ourselves embrace it, but the change will come. A friend of mine once educated me in the fact that in every moment, every day, we are changing. There is change happening in our lives. With every piece of information that we take in, it influences us in ways for good and for naught, and it changes us. It changes the course of our lives. We have countless in betweens, seasonally and not.

I think that standing on that threshold should be embraced not only as a transition, but an opportunity for new adventures, new knowledge, and maintaining the mystery and appreciating the beauty that is both behind and ahead of us. And, also the remembering that we are choosing these transitions, these changes, these times when we amp up, or give up, on our lives. We are designing all of it, transitions included.

Embrace those in betweens, and find the joy in them! And, by the way, Welcome, sweet Autumn!!!!

2 thoughts on “Transitions

  1. I love transitions between seasons. They are beautiful and full of surprises. However, I’m pretty scared of transitional periods in my life. Insecurity and continuous change have a powerful negative effect on m y anxiety. But those are unavoidable stages in life and part of our growth.
    I enjoyed your post very much.

  2. Shiona: I am so glad that my posts are speaking to you. Those in between times have become essential for me; because they help me to understand what comes next. I hope that as you grow, you become less afraid and more excited for the adventure of it all!!! Hugs! Vanessa

Leave a Reply

