The power of the human spirit

I have been mesmerized all day long with the stories of the mine workers in Chile, being lifted to safety one at a time. The power of the human spirit is extraordinary to me.

For over two months, these thirty three men lived more than a mile below the surface of the earth; praying, singing, playing cards. Passing the time.

Holding onto hope.

The resilience amazes me, and reminds me of what we all are made of.

I believe that each one of us, and I know me, for sure, that we are made up of stuff that can get us through most anything. Of course, there may be a situation that comes my way, that is so unexpected that I cannot survive it. However, when the power of my will, my soul, my determination and strength are able to influence it, I know that I will emerge whole and full of readiness for my next life’s adventure.

I have had a lot of challenges in my life that I have felt ready for, but in many instances there have come moments when I have felt defeated; when I have wanted to give up. To stop trying. To protest life for being this hard. Even as I go forward with my coaching work, through the Handel Group, there has been more than one occasion when I thought about throwing in the towel, quitting. Saying, no more.

The thing is, for me, there is no turning back.

For me to be truly happy, for me to truly have what I want, in the bright light of day, to emerge from the dark caverns that I have lived in at times and to stand in the sun, I have to keep doing this work. I have to keep my focus on what is most important to me; I have to go forward with love, grace, and wisdom.

I have to keep my faith alive that I will design all of my life in brilliant ways.

Those men below the earth, probably had hope at times. At times, I am sure that the hope faded, when rescue might have seemed impossible; when they thought for sure that they would die there.

However, they also had faith. Faith is more active to me; faith is the belief that no matter what, I am orchestrating this, for the part that is in my power. Through that faith, I can believe that ANYTHING is possible, and that my dreams are still within my reach.

That, my friends, is the power of spirit. Faith. In self. In others. In the world.

Faith.

Leave a Reply

