Heroes

Today is Martin Luther King, Jr. day. For me, in my mind I don’t define it as a day off, but, a day on. A day to remember his legacy, and to go out and do something to make the world a better place.

I don’t have many humans that I count among my heroes. But Dr. King is one of them. His persistence in the face of imminent danger to himself and his family; his belief in always doing the right thing, even when the right thing was usually the most difficult; and his willingness to advocate for all of those oppressed, those are just some of the reasons why. His gentleness of spirit, his character that came through so clearly, his humanness in showing his hope and his despair.

And, that voice. That voice that could boom, or whisper, and bring such great impact with it. For me, anyway. Although I have no real awareness of him while he was living, I have been very drawn to him in my adult years. His message and his methods.

I advocate fiercely for many whom are oppressed. However, the most consistent group that I have advocated on behalf of, and spoken out for, are children. Children in foster care, children who need adoptive families, children who are gay or lesbian, or bisexual, transgender or questioning their sexual orientation. Youths who kill themselves simply for being who they are.

Dr. King and his legacy gives me strength to keep doing the work that I do, even when I feel despairing or tired. Dr. King helps me to keep believing in the good of humanity, and having patience with my own humanness as well. Dr. King and his words inspire me to keep going, going toward the dreams that I have, including one day, more justice, equality, and fairness to all.

He truly is my hero.

2 thoughts on “Heroes

Leave a Reply

