“It’s not the dragon that you have to slay…….”

Last week, I received this message from my notes from the Universe. It often speaks directly to what I am experiencing, envisioning or manifesting when I read it, and it always puts me back in a place of true perspective. This particular message was the following: It is not the dragon that you have to slay, it’s the fear of the dragon.

Interesting, and so very true.

I am on the verge of graduating from my Coach in Training program through the Handel Group. In meeting this amazing group of humans, and getting down to the business of design a life that I can fall in love with, I have found my dream career, dream body, and am building deeper and closer relationships. One of the parts of my vision is to develop deep, loving relationships with each of my clients. I was assigned four new paying clients this past week, and I was riding the wave of dream making and then got arrogant. I had one intro call and totally blew it, by talking about myself first, giving a bio of sorts, and not asking the client what it was she was looking to work on.

That is a trait of mine, being sneaky as all hell, trying to turn my beautiful dream right on its head.

And, in the days since this happened, I have turned it over and over in my mind and in my heart, to find the source and to put steps into place to avoid the trappings of that trait easily again. It is my Me, Me, Me trait, that wants to be the center of attention, the expert, the one to watch, and all of that. Fun, right? Well, not fun when it undermines my dream, and in investigating it a bit, I discovered in myself why I let that bugger sneak in when I get close to having my dream.

FEAR. It really is that simple. I get scared that I am going to be great, and have dreams in all of my life areas, and have deep connections with others, and a rocking body, and great friends, and I get scared shitless. And, Me, Me, Me can’t wait to kick into overdrive then; and talk about myself to fill the silence, to feel better, to find a way to avoid just being scared and going for it anyway.

So, my dreams are really the beautiful, green and blue scaled dragon, who breathes fire and has such intensity, drive and heart that I want to be the dragon; I want to be in the midst of the flames. And, the fear of those dreams keeps me stuck and lets those negative traits run the show.

Well, I have decided that it is high time that I leash that trait tightly, because I don’t want to waste any more time in going after my dreams and designing my brilliant life. Today, I go toward the dragon and realize that it is my own greatness which scares me the most, and that will bring me the most open heart and fulfilling life.

Remember, the dragon is where we want to go toward, and we need to not let our fears keep us from what we really want. No matter what.

2 thoughts on ““It’s not the dragon that you have to slay…….”

Leave a Reply

