I will never forget.

I will never forget. Where I was ten years ago. What I saw, heard, and felt. How I feel every year on this day, and many other days in between.

September 11, 2001.

Ten years have gone by, which seems next to impossible to me. My child is growing up, my jobs have changed, where I live has changed three times in those ten years. I have grown older, wise, and happier.

I can only imagine that for those persons that have been touched in the closest way by the events of that day, time does not pass quickly, but slowly, weighed down with doubt, grief, fear, maybe anger.

Despair.

I know that since that day, I look at our world differently. Not angry, or hateful, but more open, and seeking understanding. I seek understanding, less for reasons of discovering why someone committed that specific act, but rather, what does faith truthly mean to each one of us?

The ones taken? The ones left behind? Those that committed the acts?

We all have faith, and belief of one sort or another.

My truest belief, and greatest intention, is that we can all go forward and remember that although there are many differences among all of us that live in this world, there are many more aspects that make us similar. We are all connected in a deeply spiritual way.

I pray, intend, and send out thoughts of peace, solace and understanding on this day.

2 thoughts on “I will never forget.

  1. Vanessa,
    I love that you have highlighted how we are all connected. Every one of us…connected through this thing we call humanity. And when that focus is on understanding – what a beautiful place to move toward.

    Sept 11th of ten years ago was an ugly day…and was an amazing day of coming together. May we continue to come together, in community – and create a more love-filled society.

    Thank you, dear friend, for your deeply touching words today.

    Much love to you,
    Lance

Leave a Reply

