My big sister.

Two months ago, I got to spend the day with my big sister, Cindy. It had been a long time since we had been able to have real one on one time together like that. It was the first time that I was at her house. It was the first time that I got to see how she created her space that she has for herself. Although it was really short, it was so special.

I remember as I grew up, watching her do her teenaged routine, that I envied and thought was so cool. Her hair was really long and dark, and she would use a clothes iron to flatten it on the ironing board. She would wash her hair with mayonaise to keep it shiny, and would roll it with orange juice cans. She smoked cigarettes, burned incense, listened to great music, and dressed really cool. I was in total awe.

Over the years, with families, distance, and me not caring enough to stay more connected, we didn’t have much communication at times. Lately, I understand more than ever how important it is to stay connected on a regular schedule with those that we love the most. To keep the connections open, and growing deeper as time goes on. I am more aware than ever of the brevity of the time that we have on this earth, and how I don’t want to waste any chance to keep diving deeper and knowing those around me as much as I can.

My big sister may live far from me, but she is always deeply in my heart, and my mind, and am so grateful to have her in my life.

Leave a Reply

