What Faith really means.

Faith without acts is nothing.

I am not sure who originally said it, but I know that I have heard it several times in my life, most recently in the rooms of AA. Words that help me in forging my new path in my life as I go forward with courage and vision.

To me, faith was such a complex word for many years of my life. I didn’t really know what it meant to have faith, and even though I would say at times that I had it, I am not sure if I really had the full sense of what it was to me. The best that I can remember, is that faith to me, was merely believing in a power greater than myself, and that I was always being watched over and cared for.

I say MERELY, because I understand that that is only one part, albeit an important one, of what faith really means.

Over the last two years especially, I have grown deeply in my belief in a power greater than myself, and that I am being watched over and cared for. For me, that higher power is rooted in my Native American lineage, and it is Great Spirit, which enables me to feel connected to the earth, my world, and other living creatures in a deep way. I am so grateful for that part of my faith.

However, I also used to define faith as something that you didn’t really have to DO anything with, except to believe. I understand now how short sighted that is. True, belief in something bigger than myself is a big part of that equation. However, it doesn’t remove me from my own responsibility in my life.

If I were to just believe, and have things not turn out as I would like, it makes it so easy to blame or hold responsible a power greater than myself. And I am bigger than that. I am the one accountable for the actions, the deeds, the steps that I use while standing in my faith, to create the life that I want it to be.

That means, whether I am facing a challenge, building a deep relationship, finding a new career, or caring for my body, I have to always be mindful of what I am doing to further myself along my path, that I am doing my part.

And, as I write that, I recall that the saying is that, faith without works is DEAD.

The truth is, I need to have such deep respect for myself and my life, that I am doing all that I can, to make it magical and extraordinary, and believe and have trust that I will be watched over through all of my steps and growth.

Now, that is faith that I can truly believe in.

2 thoughts on “What Faith really means.

  1. 🙂 You are actually sounding quite Lutheran today, Ness. http://tquid.sharpens.org/sin_boldly.htm#a9 (section 2) What you are quoting comes first from the bible. It is also part of a famous quote by Martin Luther, too. Justified by faith is the groundwork of Lutheranism. We believe good works come through faith, because Christ did the ultimate “good work” for us.

Leave a Reply

