The End.

“And in the End, the love you take is equal to the love you make.” The Beatles

ID-10037009

This line is from one of my favorite Beatles tunes of all time, The End, which is from the Abbey Road album. I love it for many reasons. I love the upbeat tempo in the beginning, with Paul singing his soul out, and drums driving deeply and loudly. Then, I love the transition to keyboard only, and a sweet voice singing those very words above.

The love we take is equal to the love we make.

I have thought about this line many times over my life. I have been listening to this album, probably since the time I was eight years old. The music, and the words, have always had an impact on me. This is my takeaway.

What we do in this life, what we either offer, take, give or receive. What we work for, play for, and who we connect with. Where we live or travel to. No matter WHAT we do in this life, I believe that the value of it, or lack of it, always comes down to the presence, or lack of, LOVE. I don’t know if I believe that all we need is love, however, I DO believe that what we create or destroy in our lives, whether we connect or separate, it is always because of a presence, or absence, of love.

So, let’s think about this for a bit. I really think that we can start, continue, and end any aspect of our lives with love, and it will create a space that is filled with more of what it is that we want. I am not talking strictly of romantic love, family love, friendship love, or love of our nonhuman companions. I am not talking about the concept of love that we hear about at times in poetry and love songs. I mean, actually opening our selves up, to be vulnerable enough to express love and caring to others. I am talking, being brave enough to accept love from others and to respond in love as well.

I am talking about looking, with eyes of love, upon everyone and everything that we meet. It is true, it can be VERY difficult. We learn early on to protect what is ours; to hold our hearts close so that we don’t get hurt. We learn to work hard, achieve much, and connect when we can. I am saying that I want to challenge myself to work against what I may have learned in part along the way. I learned about love too; yet, I also learned that I preferred many times to judge, control, or separate from others because it was easier, or because, it left me feeling better about me.

Love isn’t about flowers, candy and sweet songs. That is part of it. Yet, is also acceptance, of one another and ourselves, without the harsh eye of judgment always upon it. Love is understanding, even if a person is not living in a way that I want or expect. Love is openness, that there are many things in this life that I don’t know, and that others can teach me.

When I leave this world, I want to take with me a soul full of the love that I have shared, connected with and felt throughout my life time. I want to keep pushing against my tendency to want to protect and close, and instead, open and and connect.

I want to spend my days, making LOVE. Don’t you?

sunny cloud sky

Leave a Reply

