Eye on the Sky.

photo (9)

I have a 27 mile commute to and from work each day. It is all highway driving, and it goes from Scranton to the Pocono Mountains. It is a breathtaking view, and most days, I get quite a show in the sky. The view to and from work is always a good way for me to practice staying in the moment, because it is so beautiful, and there is so much to see.

Yesterday was no exception. I was fully present, and looked to my left in the beautifully unique sky. I actually saw mint green in the sky, among the clouds gathering for sunset. It was incredible. And, when I looked back 30 seconds later, it had faded a bit. When I looked a minute later, it was gone.

This experience was a beautiful reminder to my current life lesson, that being, living in the present moment. I have been remembering more frequently to just be in this moment, right now, without worry about five minutes from now, or regret from yesterday. Being able to give myself that gift, complete presence in my life, allows me to really pay attention to what is going on right now, or who I am with in this moment, and really take it in.

Yesterday while I went through my day, I found it easier than usual to stay in the present moment. Whether I was talking to a provider about my work; working out with my buddies in the office; or looking up a topic I was interested in, I found myself immersed in the experience and learning from it as a result.

As I drove home last night, I realized that staying in the moment is easy for me when I am watching a beautiful sunrise or sunset; spending time with my love and my daughter; visiting my family; or doing something fun that I really enjoy. Staying in the moment is a bigger challenge for me when it is an experience that feels more difficult, whether that is sadness, grief or worry. Even in those times, staying in the moment is key. To fully be in whatever I am experiencing, I get to learn so much about myself, and the experience itself. I get to FEEL, every bit of what is happening. It reminds me how alive I am in this world and awake for my life.

Each day, I keep learning about how I can really get as much joy as possible from the moments in it. And, yesterday was a reminder for me that every moment counts, no matter what is in it.

photo (8)

2 thoughts on “Eye on the Sky.

Leave a Reply

