The Honor of being a Mother.

photo-2

I had a fabulous Mother’s day. It felt perfect, to have time with my daughter, and for her to also have time with her other mom and their family. It was easy, and soft and relaxed. And, part of that is because I felt differently inside about it this year, more than I have in the past.

For many years now, since Hannah was very small, Mother’s day was a big deal for her to plan. She would get up early, and make us breakfast. She would hide her treasures that she had created for us, and as she got older, she would enjoy picking out just the right card to give to us. Last year, she even got a card for Brenda. She has made it her own, made it special in a way that was important to her.

This year, I told her before it came around, that it didn’t matter to me if she got me a gift, or a card. I told her that for me, it felt special just to be with her, and that is enough. She smiled, a knowing smile, and seemed to understand how much we both had grown, especially in the last couple of years with one another. I found a note on Mother’s Day, taped to the bathroom mirror, telling me about how special I am to her, and how much she appreciates our closeness. There was a note waiting for Brenda, too.

I have always known how fortunate I am, to have given birth to, and raised such an amazing human being. Yet, this year, it felt even more intense than ever before. And, I realized that although the cards, and gifts, and special breakfast treats are all beautiful, and appreciated, this year I wasn’t looking to be honored as a mother. To me, the greater honor is in being a mother myself.

I hardly have a day go by that I don’t think about how challenging, and rewarding, it is for me to be a parent. It is hard work. It is expensive. It takes time, and patience, and understanding, and revisiting the same life lesson many times. It is ballet lessons, driving lessons, and proms. It is fights, and kisses, and snuggling on the couch to watch home movies. Never in my wildest dreams could I have imagined it would be as great as it is.

So, this year, I want to honor the children of mothers all over the world. Because although the appreciation feels wonderful, the honor really is all mine to be a mom.

243898_10151395533143136_748651713_o

Leave a Reply

