Faster Food.

1024px-Chipotle_Mexican_Grill_logo.svg

Earlier this year, we got a Chipotle restaurant in our local area. I had been very familiar with the Chipotle business model from a documentary that I had seen, and I enjoy the type of food that they serve there. So, I was looking forward to their arrival, and have eaten there a few times. Even though they serve fresh, delicious food, it is considered fast food in terms of its convenience and set up.

About two weeks ago, a traffic light down from Chipotle, Taco Bell opened. Even though I have eaten Taco Bell, and sometimes liked it, it isn’t my favorite. They take a concept of good tasting food and make it super fast, super cheap and less quality than a sit down restaurant. To me, Taco Bell is what I would call faster food.

taco-bell-logo

I found myself thinking about that this week as I observed my world, and the people in it, and the pace at which we all move. It seems that most of the people that I know, including myself, think we are on a schedule. I mean, even if we have things that we need or want to do, we are obsessed with time. How long things take; how long we have to wait in line; how much we have to get done in the next five minutes. So I know for me, I look for ways to get things done more efficiently and in less time so I have more time to do other things. I want fast food.

But, on some days, I want FASTER food. I have several places to be in one day, and worry that I won’t get to all of them, so I obsess over how long I will spend in each place, or if I will get done what I need to when I get home. Or if I will have enough time to relax, fix a meal, take a walk. I want to get done what I think I have to do so I can more quickly go on to the next thing. I am aspiring for peace, quiet, harmony, a time to sit and rest.

I relate this symbol to my growth and lessons as a person who is connecting with my spiritual self. There are days when I don’t practice peace, when I want to just read a bit in the morning and then forget what I read by the time I get in the car, ready for the next thing. There are days when I feel so consumed by my thoughts that I think that I will go insane, but to slow down and look at them takes too much time, too much effort. Yet, what I find is that the more that I sit, savor deeply the silence, reflection, and the essence of my true self, the more peace and tranquility I experience throughout the day. The progress and process is slow, but steady. Each day, I learn how to bring peace in a bit more often to my world.

Sure, I can just throw a deep breath in here and there throughout my day when I feel overwhelmed or stressed. Yet, the deeper peace comes when I really attend to myself, take my time and prepare and really give myself the space to get quiet and reflect. I am understanding more and more what a great love of self it is to take the time to really sink into my ever present peace.

IMG_1901

One thought on “Faster Food.

  1. Hey Vanessa, Long time, & I know what you mean. There is something so satisfying with taking time for ourselves. I have established a nice routine for myself a couple times a week — I go to a yoga class and then take myself out to lunch. It’s really good food, but prepared fast, and it gives me time to stop, read, talk to the other regulars. I’m also re-entering the blogosphere, cuz reading and posting is a wonderful thing to do for myself.

Leave a Reply

